The International Association of Meteorology and Atmospheric Sciences









Statutes & Regulations


Current IAMAS Officers

The IAMAS Executive Committee consists of the Bureau, the Members at Large and the Presidents of the 10 Commissions

Click on the names below for contact details

IAMAS BUREAU 2007-2011:

Prof. Guoxiong Wu, President IAMAS 2007-2011
Dr. Anne Thompson, Vice-President IAMAS 2007-2011
Dr. Maria Assuncao Faus Silva Dias, Vice-President 2007-2011
Dr. Hans Volkert, Secretary General IAMAS 2007-2015
Dr. John Turner, Deputy Secretary General 2003-2011


Dr. Philippe Bougeault 2003-2011

Prof. Dr. Sabina Stefan 2005-2011
Prof. Ernest Hugo Berbery 2007-2015
Dr. Vladimir Kattsov 2007-2015
Dr. Michael MacCracken, Past President IAMAS 2007-2011
Prof. Tetsuzo Yasunari 2007-2015


Atmospheric Chemistry and Global Pollution (ICACGP)

Prof. Dr. John Burrows, President ICACGP, OAR 2010-2014
Prof. Laura Gallardo Klenner, Vice President ICACGP 2010-2014
Dr. Frank Dentener, Secretary ICACGP

Atmospheric Electricity (ICAE)

Prof. Zen Kawasaki, President ICAE 2007-2011
Prof. Daohong Wang, Secretary ICAE 2007-2011

Climate (ICCL)

Dr. Keith Alverson, President ICCL (2003-2011)
Dr. Neil Holbrook, Secretary ICCL (2003-2011)

Clouds and Precipitation (ICCP)

Prof. Zev Levin, President ICCP (2004-2012)
Dr. Andrea Flossmann, Vice-President ICCP (2004-2012)
Dr. David O'C. Starr, Secretary ICCP (2000-2012)

ICCP Committee on Nucleation and Atmospheric Aerosols:

Prof. Colin O'Dowd, Co-Chairman ICCP-CNAA (2004-2008)
Dr. Paul DeMott, Co-Chairman ICCP-CNAA (2004-2008)

Dynamic Meteorology (ICDM)

Prof. John W. Nielsen-Gammon, President ICDM 2007-2011
Dr. Richard Swinbank Secretary ICDM 2007-2011
Dr. Peter Baines, Past President ICDM 2007-2011

Meteorology of the Middle Atmosphere (ICMA)

Prof. Shigeo Yoden, President ICMA 2007-2011
Dr. Daniel Marsh, Vice-President ICMA 2007-2011

Planetary Atmospheres and Their Evolution (ICPAE)

Dr. Athéna Coustenis, President, 2003-2011
Dr. Dmitri Titov , Vice-President, 2003-2011
Dr. Darrell Strobel, Secretary, 2007-2011

Polar Meteorology (ICPM)

Prof. David Bromwich, President ICPM (2003-2011),
Dr. Tom Lachlan-Cope, Secretary ICPM (2007-2011)

Ozone (IOC)

Prof. Christos Zerefos, President IOC 2008-2012
Dr. Richard Stolarski, Vice-President IOC 2008-2012
Dr. Sophie Godin-Beekmann, Secretary IOC 2008-2012
Dr. Donald Wuebbels, Director of Information 2008-2012

Radiation (IRC)

Dr. Robert Cahalan, President IRC 2008-2012

Dr. Werner Schmutz, Vice-President IRC 2008-2012
Prof. Byung-Ju Sohn, Secretary IRC 2008-2012

Details of past officers can be found here


Page last update: 6 September 2010
Maintained by Dr John Turner, British Antarctic Survey (J.Turner@bas.ac.uk)