INFORMATION E-MAIL FROM THE IAMAS BUREAU

October, 2014

CONTENTS:

- a) IUGG Electronic Journal, Volume 14 No. 10 (1 Oct. 2014)
- b) IAMAS-only and IAMAS-led cross-association symposia for IUGG2015 are now available online (Abstract Submission Deadline: 31 Jan., 2015)
- c) Call for nominations for IAMAS EC 2015-2019 (Deadline: 15 Jan., 2015)
- d) Call for nominations for the IAMAS Early Career Scientist Medal (Deadline: 22 Dec., 2014)
- e) IAMAS Vice President Joyce Penner was elected president of Atmospheric Sciences section of AGU
- f) The 9th Antarctic Meteorological Observing, Modeling, and Forecasting Workshop—An ICPM workshop report

a) IUGG Electronic Journal, Volume 14 No. 8 (1 August 2014)

The IUGG E-Journal, Volume 14 No. 8 has been published at <u>http://www.iugg.org/publications/ejournals/IUGGej1410.pdf</u>

The contents include:

- 1. XXVI IUGG General Assembly: Call for Abstracts and Registration Open
- 2. Nominations for the IUGG Gold Medal due on 22 October
- 3. Proposed changes to IUGG Statutes and By-Laws due 1 November
- 4. Report on the SEDI International Symposium
- 5. Report on the GeoUnions Meeting
- 6. Report on the COSPAR Council Meeting
- 7. News from Future Earth
- 8. IUGG-related meetings occurring during October December 2014

b) IAMAS-only and IAMAS-led cross-association symposia for IUGG2015 are now available online

Descriptions of the IAMAS-only and IAMAS-led cross-association symposia that will be held at IUGG2015 are now available online at <u>http://www.iugg2015prague.com/</u>. Call for abstracts is also open until **31 Jan., 2015**. The deadline for grant applications is 15 Jan. 2015.

c) Call for nominations for IAMAS EC 2015-2019

The following IAMAS EC positions will be open for election at the upcoming General Assembly in 2015:

--President (2015-2019)

--Secretary General (2015-2023)

--two Vice- Presidents (2015-2019), and

-- three Members-at-Large (2015-2023)

The IAMAS Nominating Committee invites the national representatives of IUGG Adhering Countries and members of the IAMAS Executive Committee (which includes the Presidents of the IAMAS Commissions as well as the elected officers), to nominate individuals for any or all of the above-noted positions. In line with the IAMAS Statutes (downloadable from the IAMAS Web site), your nominations should be received by **15 Jan, 2015**. Please send the nominations to the Chair of the Nominating Committee, Prof. Guoxiong Wu (gxwu@lasg.iap.ac.cn), or to any of the other members of the Committee with a copy to the administrative assistant Ms. Jenny Lin (jennylin@mail.iap.ac.cn). The Committee will then consider all of the nominations and prepare a slate of candidates for the IAMAS Plenary to vote on at the Prague meeting. The slate will be completed by 1 May, 2015 and will be presented at the first plenary session of the EC meeting in Prague.

The details of nomination procedures can be found in the letter circulated to all the EC members and National Committees on 11 August, 2014.

d) Call for nominations for the IAMAS Early Career Scientist Medal

IAMAS will award its second Early Career Scientist Medal at IUGG-2015 in Prague (cf. http://www.iamas.org/NewsLetters/ for the presentation at DACA-13). All nominations received for the IUGG Early Career Scientist Award and not forwarded to IUGG will be considered. Further nominations are possible until **22 December 2014** to John Tuner (email: jtu@bas.ac.uk). Details about nominations for IAMAS/ECSM are given below:

The IAMAS Early Career Scientist medal can be awarded to any suitable scientist working in any area of the atmospheric sciences.

The medal is presented biennially at the IAMAS Assemblies with the recipient being invited to give a lecture at an appropriate session.

Early career is taken as a scientist who has earned their highest degree within the last 10 years or who are under 40 years of age when nominated.

Scientists can be nominated for the Medal by the IAMAS commissions, who are encouraged seek potential nominees from within their field. Each commission may nominate only one scientist ahead of an Assembly. Nominations should be received by the IAMAS Bureau at least 6 months ahead of the Assembly where the Medal will be awarded (this is 22 December 2014 for the Prague Assembly).

The nomination should include a brief (less than 2 page) account of the achievements of the nominated scientist, details of their involvement with IAMAS, a list of their major publications and an assessment of their potential.

The recipient will be decided by an Awards Committee established by the IAMAS Bureau and usually chaired by an IAMAS Vice President. Membership of the committee is drawn from the Bureau and Members at Large. The committee works via email and tele-conference.

If no suitable candidates are nominated ahead of an Assembly the medal will not be awarded.

The recipient will receive an inscribed medal and a certificate signed by the President and Secretary-General of IAMAS.

e) IAMAS Vice President Joyce Penner elected President of the Atmospheric Sciences section of AGU

IAMAS Vice President Prof. Joyce Penner was recently elected President of the Atmospheric Sciences section of the American Geophysical Union (<u>http://elections.agu.org/</u>). She will begin her term of office on 1 January 2015 and serve for 2 years. Please join us in congratulating her!

(Received from Mike MacCracken, IAMAS Past President)

f) The 9th Antarctic Meteorological Observing, Modeling, and Forecasting Workshop—An ICPM workshop report

The 9th Antarctic Meteorological Observation, Modeling, and Forecasting Workshop (AMOMFW) was held on June 9-11, 2014, in Charleston, South Carolina: a city renowned for its summer heat and humidity, is a stark contrast to the discussions on the extreme winters of Antarctica. The meeting followed its objective of connecting the range of Antarctic atmospheric sciences from research to weather-related operational issues - and all knowledge gained in understanding the polar environment. The workshop held a cooperative spirit designed to assist the National Science Foundation (NSF) Division of Polar Programs (PLR) and the United States Antarctic Program in supporting Antarctic research and operations. The same holds for other national Antarctic Programs, as the meeting had attendees from Australia and the United Kingdom. Historically, representatives from other nations have attended including France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, and South Korea, among Attendees others. included а variety of research scientists, undergraduate/graduate students, and professionals. The workshop was hosted by the Space and Naval Warfare Systems Center, which is engaged by NSF for weather forecasting for the United States Antarctic Program.

Oral presentations, a poster session, and brainstorming sessions covered a range of topics and encouraged multiple perspectives to address the numerous issues presented. Topics were as diverse as the workshop's title, spanning dynamic meteorology to new tools for weather forecasting. A special workshop session was held on the implications to the Antarctic community of diminished support for the Antarctic Meteorological Research Center (AMRC). The AMRC has been funded out of the United States Antarctic Program for over 20 years and is valued by the Antarctic meteorological community.

(Received from Matthew Lazzara, Secretary ICPM and Thomas Lachlan-Cope, President ICPM)